My Introduction Ceremony.

Everything had been set up for the ceremony. Plastic chairs were added to the living room. The floor was sparkling. The center table and shelf were dust-free. The aroma of food filled the air.

Kunle proposed to me two months before. And today is the first major step to getting married. Kunle’s family would be officially introduced to my family. Then plans for the traditional marriage ceremony would begin.

After my sister finished my make-up, I couldn’t take my eyes off the reflection in the mirror. Kunle would be amazed at how beautiful his fiancee can be. I wore a purple lace dress and a pink gele (headgear). My gele was top-notch. It was that kind of gele that called for attention.

Now all was set. My family members were all dressed and ready to receive their in-laws. Panic began to set in when an hour passed the time that was scheduled. I went into my room to get my phone so I could call Kunle when I saw his text message.

I opened my eyes in the hospital. I thought to myself today was supposed to be my introduction ceremony, so what was I doing on a hospital bed? Loud snores from the other side of the room jolted me back to reality and I remembered.

Kunle had sent me a text message saying he was about to board a plane to America and the proposal was a mistake. My scream and subsequent fall must have alerted my family.

I stood up from the bed and walked towards the person snoring. Alas it was Kunle. What was he doing here? As though aware someone was watching him, he woke up. He knelt down and started pleading with me to forgive him.

I was at loss for words when my mum and brother came inside the room. She brought food and other things. I looked from her to my brother and then to Kunle. Then all of them burst out laughing. My brother was like, “someone cannot even play with you, everything was just a prank.” I looked back at Kunle who was still on his knees, then I walked out of the room.

27 thoughts on “My Introduction Ceremony.

Leave a comment